Select Page

The Meralco Kuryenteng Ligtas (K-Ligtas) Awards, the country’s first and only industry recognition program for electrical safety best practices, recently honored a new batch of awardees in a ceremony held during the 42nd Institute of Integrated Electrical Engineers of the Philippines (IIEE) National Convention in Pasay City. The K-Ligtas Awards is an advocacy program of Meralco through its learning and development arm, the Meralco Power Academy (MPA).

MPA President Ramon B. Segismundo said the K-Ligtas Awards went bigger and bolder in its second year with a wider search producing a bigger number of nominees, each of which underwent stringent assessment by seasoned professional industry practitioners. This year’s K-Ligtas Awards was held in collaboration with the IIEE, the Department of Energy (DOE), the Department of Labor and Employment (DOLE) Occupational Safety and Health Center, the Professional Regulation Commission (PRC) Board of Electrical Engineering, the University of the Philippines (UP), and the Bureau of Fire Protection (BFP).

In photo receiving the K-Ligtas Awards trophies are the winning organizations as follows (top row, L-R): Rohm and Haas, Small Industrial Business awardee; Nexperia Philippines, Inc. and Wyeth Philippines, Inc., Industrial Business awardees; Carmona (Cavite), LGU-Municipality awardee; Marikina City, LGU-City awardee; and Hotel Jen, Commercial Business awardee.

The awards were presented by: (lower row, L-R) Meralco SVP and Head of Networks Ronnie L. Aperocho; DOE Usec. Felix William “Wimpy” Fuentebella; MPA President Ramon B. Segismundo; Meralco Head of Organizational Safety & Resiliency, and K-Ligtas Awards 2017 Chairman Antonio M. Abuel Jr. and Vice Chairman Hipolito Leoncio.

For more information about the K-Ligtas Awards, log on to